We are thrilled to announce the winners of the Next Generation Animal Tracking Challenge!

This challenge sought ideas and concepts that incorporate SmallSat/CubeSat technology along with other space, stratosphere, land, and/or water surface systems to improve upon the current system of data reception for tracking animal position and path movement. Together, we are creating the future of animal tracking.


And the winners are...

Tied for 1st Place, received $15,000 each:


Team Gaia: Hugo Shelley, Dani Epstein, and David Curnick

Gaia - The Future of Satellite Animal Tracking




Team NEMO: Rina Onishi, Tane Tatum, Remy Derollez, Justin Kruger, and Andrew Gatherer

NEMO: The Near Earth Marine Observer


We would also like to acknowledge the following people for their contributions to this challenge with an Honorable Mention:

Arwin J. Abaigar: Next-Gen ATN: Disruption-Tolerant Mesh Network

Osi Van Dessel: ATLAS: Animal Tracking Linked Autonomous Satellites

Ovidiu Dobre: Tracking Protocol


Thank you to everyone who submitted and followed the challenge, we could not have done it without you. We would also like to send a special thank you to our expert reviewers whose feedback was invaluable in selecting the winners of the challenge.