After several months of hard work creating solar system designs for three distinct district use cases, 35 teams from 32 collegiate institutions have been selected as finalists in the 2020 edition of the U.S. Department of Energy Solar District Cup Collegiate Design Competition! 

The collegiate institutions continuing as finalists in the Solar District Cup 2020 are:

Alfred University 
Appalachian State University 
Arizona State University 
Brown University 
California Polytechnic State University 
California State University, Los Angeles 
Clemson University 
Colorado School of Mines 
Cornell University 
Creighton University 
Dartmouth College 
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University 
Florida International University 
Georgia Institute of Technology 
Hanover College 
Illinois Institute of Technology 
Indiana University--Purdue University Indianapolis 
Marquette University 
Missouri University of Science and Technology 
New Mexico State University 
Northern Arizona University 
Santa Clara University 
The Ohio State University 
The University of Arkansas 
The University of Massachusetts Lowell 
The University of Virginia 
University at Buffalo, The State University of New York 
University of Cincinnati 
University of Colorado Boulder 
University of South Florida 
West Virginia University
Western Washington University

Congratulations to these finalist teams! They are now competing against the other finalist teams within each of their assigned divisions to create optimized solar + storage solutions for their campus or urban district.

In April 2020, teams will present their projects to a panel of judges at Solar and Energy Storage Southeast in Atlanta. Judges will identify the first-, second-, and third-place teams in each division and Solar and Energy Storage Southeast attendees will vote to choose an industry choice winner from amongst the three first place teams. 

With so much development in education, networking, and presentation skills throughout the competition, we’re confident all our competitors will walk away as champions of the Solar District Cup 2020!

Learn more about the 2020 competition.