Today, the U.S. Department of Energy announced division first-, second-, and third-place winners, as well as honorable mentions. And this afternoon, the public is invited to vote for the Project Pitch Champion from among the first-place teams! 

The top teams in each division are as follows: 

Bring-Your-Own-District Use Case Division 

  • 1st: University of Minnesota Twin Cities and Duluth Campuses  
  • 2nd: Iowa State University of Science and Technology 

Florida A&M University District Use Case Division  

  • 1st: Northeastern University  
  • 2nd: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University  
  • 3rd: Drexel University  

Lake Nona Town Center District Use Case Division 

  • 1st: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign  
  • 2nd: Texas A&M University  
  • 3rd: North Carolina State University  
  • Honorable mention: Boise State University 

Lummi Tribal Nation District Use Case Division 

  • 1st: Boise State University  
  • 2nd: Macalester College  
  • 3rd: West Texas A&M University  

North Carolina State University District Use Case Division 

  • 1st: Northeastern University  
  • 2nd: Illinois State University 
  • 3rd: Carnegie Mellon University   

Congratulations to all of the Class of 2022-2023 teams that participated in this year’s competition.  

Next up: the final Pitch Championship is 2 - 3 p.m. EDT! Watch live as the five first-place teams in each division pitch to a public audience, who will then vote on their favorite team to determine the Project Pitch Champion.  

Register now to join the Solar District Cup Pitch Championship and tune in to cast your vote today at 2 p.m. EDT!