Today, the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office announced the second phase winners of the H-Prize: Hydrogen Shot Incubator, a competition to develop innovative concepts for producing clean hydrogen.

In this final phase (Prove!), four winning teams will each receive $300,000 in vouchers to spend at national laboratories to further develop their concepts and $100,000 in cash to support their preparation for a future Pitch Day event. 

The winners of the Prove! phase, and their proposed concepts, are:

  • Electro-Active Hydrogen (Knoxville, TN)—a system that integrates solar energy with algal hydrothermal liquefaction and microbial electrolysis to generate clean hydrogen, leveraging the chemical energy from organic matter
  • Biomass Super Gasifier (Indianapolis, IN)—an indirectly-heated pyrolytic gasification process to convert carbon-based feedstocks into syngas from which hydrogen can be extracted—with the remaining syngas used in a solid oxide fuel cell to generate power to run the system
  • NX Fuels Inc. (Ann Arbor, MI)—a technology that harnesses sunlight to produce hydrogen from seawater using a photoelectrochemical process
  • PAX H2(O) (Richmond, CA)—a technology that could reduce the capital and operating expenses of an electrolysis system by producing clean water using waste heat from the electrolyzer

The H-Prize: Hydrogen Shot Incubator is administered by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory and is jointly funded by the DOE Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office and the Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management.