The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Water Power Technologies Office (WPTO) announced two teams were chosen as winners of the Groundbreaking Prize.  Winners will share a cash prize pool of $75,000. The Groundbreaking Prize winner will receive $50,000, while $25,000 will go to the Innovator Prize winner:

  • Groundbreaking Prize: 
    • Team: GZA GeoEnvironmental Inc and Littoral Power Systems, Terra-Modular Project
    • Concept: Prefabrication of a modular hydropower foundation for a wide range of soils and substructures.


  • Innovator Prize:
    • Team: Team Chemventive, WaterJet Drill with a Deep Array of Anchor Cables Concept
    • Concept: Deep array of high-tension cables drilled through solid rock, using a water-jet drilling robot, to secure a steel dam in tension.

Read the official announcement.