The following countries are affected by official sanctions, thereby preventing participation in the Metaverse and the Future of Flight Challenge for individuals and teams originating from such countries.

- Afghanistan
- Belarus
- Central African Republic
- China
- Cuba
- Democratic Republic of Congo
- Cyprus
- Eritrea
- Ethiopia
- Haiti
- Hong Kong
- Iran
- Iraq
- Lebanon
- Libya
- Myanmar / Burma
- North Korea
- Russian Federation
- Saudi Arabia
- Somalia
- South Sudan
- Sudan
- Syrian Arab Republic
- Turkey
- Ukraine
- Venezuela
- Yemen
- Zimbabwe