We are excited to announce that 57 teams from 52 collegiate institutions are participating in the Solar District Cup Class of 2022-2023! The class of competitors includes students and faculty advisors from new and returning schools across the country.

 “We continue to see schools choosing to come back to the Solar District Cup program,” said Sara Farrar, competition organizer at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. “Just over half of our teams this year are from schools who participated in at least one previous year, while many are new to the Solar District Cup. And we expect to see even more schools participate in our new single-semester option this spring.”

Please join us in welcoming the following collegiate institutions as participants in the U.S. Department of Energy Solar District Cup Collegiate Design Competition Class of 2022-2023: 

  • Alfred State College of Technology
  • Alfred University
  • Appalachian State University
  • Arizona State University
  • Boise State University
  • Boston University 
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Clark Atlanta University
  • College of the Muscogee Nation
  • Cornell University
  • Drexel University
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Hampshire College
  • Harris-Stowe State University
  • Illinois State University
  • Indian Hills Community College
  • Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Iowa State University of Science and Technology
  • Lehigh University
  • Manhattan College
  • Miami University
  • Michigan State University
  • Monterey Peninsula College
  • North Carolina State University
  • New Mexico State University
  • Northeastern University
  • New York University
  • Penn State Hazleton
  • Saint Louis University
  • San Antonio College
  • Temple University
  • Texas A&M University
  • Texas Tech University
  • The George Washington University
  • The Ohio State University
  • The University of Arizona
  • The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • The University of New Hampshire
  • University of Minnesota Duluth
  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities
  • University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
  • University of California, Riverside
  • University of Houston
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Campus
  • University of Washington
  • University of Wisconsin-Platteville
  • Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology
  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • West Texas A&M University

Read the full announcement here for more details on the Class of 2022-2023.

Additionally, we are pleased to announce three of the district use cases for the 2022-2023 program. Students will design, model, and propose distributed solar energy systems for one of the following district use cases:

  • Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
  • Lake Nona Town Center in Orange County, Florida
  • North Carolina State University’s Centennial Campus. 

Special thanks to partnering organizations, including Aurora Solar Inc., Energy Toolbase, and RE+ Events. Their support is critical to student success in the competition and beyond as they continue their education and enter the renewable energy workforce.

We are thrilled to have so many teams competing from a wide variety of schools and disciplines in the Class of 2022-2023. Stay tuned to find out which teams advance as finalists in January!